Surrounded by mountain views
Explore our Facilities
Learn More
Find out more about
Wildacres History
FIND OUT MORE
Support
Wildacres Retreat
WAYS TO GIVE
JOIN OUR
Upcoming Retreats
VIEW RETREATS

North Carolina Conference Center Wildacres Logo

Welcome to Wildacres

North Carolina Conference Center

 

Wildacres Retreat is a non-profit retreat and North Carolina conference center serving other non-profit groups conducting educational or cultural programs on topics such as music, art, science, pottery, lapidary, interfaith dialogue, quilting, and creative writing. We are also a great location for staff and board retreats for other non-profit organizations. Wildacres Retreat takes group reservations only.

At an elevation of 3,300 feet, Wildacres Retreat is situated on just over 1200 acres atop Pompey’s Knob, not too far from Mt. Mitchell and just off the Blue Ridge Parkway in Little Switzerland, North Carolina.

Residency Program
An opportunity for artists to concentrate on a specific creative arts project.
Learn More
Wildacres' Story
Wildacres Retreat has been a part of Western North Carolina history since the early 1900’s.
Hear our story

The Roots of Wildacres

Wildacres Retreat has been a part of Western North Carolina history since the early 1900’s, and has been open as a retreat for non-profit organizations and groups since 1946.

 

SEE OUR HISTORY

Wildacres

Upcoming Retreats

Saturday, June 19, 2021
Wildacres Flute Retreat
Saturday, June 19, 2021
James Houlik Saxophone Retreat
Sunday, June 27, 2021
Robert Dick Contemporary Flute
Sunday, June 27, 2021
Rising Sun Pottery
Sunday, June 27, 2021
Storytellers Wild Week
Sunday, July 4, 2021
Wildacres Writers Retreat
Saturday, July 10, 2021
WA Writers Workshop
Sunday, July 18, 2021
Redux Art Retreat I
Sunday, July 25, 2021
Redux Art Retreat II
Thursday, August 5, 2021
Rabbinic Kallah
Thursday, August 12, 2021
Camp Doremi
Monday, August 16, 2021
B'nai B'rith
Friday, August 20, 2021
Temple Beth El
Monday, August 23, 2021
Southeast Federation
Monday, August 23, 2021
Charlotte Woodcarvers Club
Thursday, August 26, 2021
Charlotte Woodcarvers Club
Monday, August 30, 2021
Table Rock Writers
Saturday, September 4, 2021
Discovery Place
Monday, September 6, 2021
Eastern Federation
Monday, September 13, 2021
Southeast Federation
Monday, September 13, 2021
Cynthia Lee Handbuilding Clay Workshop
Monday, September 20, 2021
Cynthia Bringle Pottery
Thursday, September 23, 2021
The Mushroomers
Thursday, September 30, 2021
Association of Research and Enlightenment
Monday, October 4, 2021
Sun City Lifelong Learning
Friday, October 15, 2021
Department of Family Medicine
Monday, October 18, 2021
Florida Society of Goldsmiths
Thursday, October 21, 2021
Wildacres Leadership Initiative
Monday, October 25, 2021
Redux Retreat III

As a CEO of a non-profit, I can’t say enough about our group retreat. The beautiful grounds of Wildacres was the perfect backdrop for retreat and renewal for our organization.
Jefferson Smith
CEO of New Beginnings
The sense of camaraderie among the different ethnicities, religions, social and economic differences is a true example of founders I.D. and Madolyn Blumenthal’s decision to dedicate Wildacres Retreat "to the betterment of human relations.”
Gary Lee
Owner - Rising Sun Pottery
Wildacres magic is certainly born from its quiet and simple beauty. It is when we carry those gifts back down from that mountain that the real magical power of Wildacres is revealed.
Clark Denniston
MD

Our Values

In the Spring of 1946, Wildacres Retreat was dedicated “to the betterment of human relations” in the hope that through their experiences at the retreat, groups and guests would learn to live together in harmony in the “real world.”

 

At Wildacres Retreat, we believe that diversity, inclusion, and equity are essential ingredients to fulfilling our founding purpose. We believe in the importance of learning from one another and expanding our perspectives in the process. Varied ideas, world views, and personal characteristics can find common purpose in the pursuit of just and equitable human relations. As a community, we support an environment in which all are welcome and respected. We intentionally engage people of diverse ages, ethnicities, races, religions or philosophical beliefs, political affiliations, sexual orientations, gender identities and expressions, nationalities, and socioeconomic statuses in order to build authentic, trusting relationships across these differences. In all that we are and all that we do, Wildacres is an environment free of discrimination, rich with respectful dialogue across differences, and steadfast in its commitment to, and pursuit of, the betterment of human relations.