Surrounded by mountain views
Explore our Facilities
Learn More
Find out more about
Wildacres History
FIND OUT MORE
Support
Wildacres Retreat
WAYS TO GIVE
JOIN OUR
Upcoming Retreats
VIEW RETREATS

North Carolina Conference Center Wildacres Logo

Welcome to Wildacres

North Carolina Conference Center

 

Wildacres Retreat is a non-profit retreat and North Carolina conference center serving other non-profit groups conducting educational or cultural programs on topics such as music, art, science, pottery, lapidary, interfaith dialogue, quilting, and creative writing. We are also a great location for staff and board retreats for other non-profit organizations. Wildacres Retreat takes group reservations only.

At an elevation of 3,300 feet, Wildacres Retreat is situated on just over 1200 acres atop Pompey’s Knob, not too far from Mt. Mitchell and just off the Blue Ridge Parkway in Little Switzerland, North Carolina.

Residency Program
An opportunity for artists to concentrate on a specific creative arts project.
Learn More
Wildacres' Story
Wildacres Retreat has been a part of Western North Carolina history since the early 1900’s.
Read our story

The Roots of Wildacres

Wildacres Retreat has been a part of Western North Carolina history since the early 1900’s, and has been open as a retreat for non-profit organizations and groups since 1946.

Wildacres

Upcoming Retreats

Saturday, June 15, 2024
Sycamore Hill Writers
Saturday, June 15, 2024
Robert Dick Contemporary Flute
Saturday, June 22, 2024
James Houlik Saxophone Retreat
Saturday, June 22, 2024
Wildacres Flute Retreat
Friday, June 28, 2024 / 7:30PM
Flutes and Saxophones Concert
Sunday, June 30, 2024
Storytellers' Wild Week
Sunday, June 30, 2024
Wildacres Writers Retreat
Sunday, June 30, 2024
Bonny Method of GIM Archetype and Spirituality
Saturday, July 6, 2024
Wildacres Writers Workshop
Sunday, July 14, 2024
EdNC's Leadership Retreat for the GRA
Sunday, July 14, 2024
Redux Art Retreat I
Sunday, July 21, 2024
Redux Art Retreat II
Sunday, July 21, 2024
NC Climate Justice Collective
Monday, July 29, 2024
Wildacres Interfaith Institute
Monday, July 29, 2024
Bonny Method Music for GIM
Thursday, August 1, 2024
Greater Carolina Association of Rabbis
Sunday, August 4, 2024
UNCA SciComm Scholars Institute
Friday, August 9, 2024
WLI All Fellows Gathering
Monday, August 12, 2024
Southeast Federation
Monday, August 12, 2024
Charlotte NC Woodcarvers Club
Monday, August 12, 2024
Creative Clay
Friday, August 16, 2024
Blue Ridge Fiber Guild
Thursday, August 22, 2024
Edgar Cayce's ARE
Monday, August 26, 2024
Table Rock Writers/Solatido Songwriters
Monday, August 26, 2024
Bonny Method Music for GIM I - Fall Session
Friday, August 30, 2024
Temple Beth El
Friday, September 6, 2024
HPU Natural Sciences Fellows
Monday, September 9, 2024
Southeast Federation
Monday, September 9, 2024
Edwina Bringle Textile Retreat
Thursday, September 12, 2024
Camp Doremi
Friday, September 13, 2024
Gardner-Webb Writers
Monday, September 16, 2024
Cynthia Bringle Pottery
Monday, September 16, 2024
Creative Watercolor Techniques
Monday, September 16, 2024
Carolinas Writing Program Administrators
Thursday, September 19, 2024
The Mushroomers
Friday, September 20, 2024
Music for People
Monday, September 23, 2024
Roots. Wounds. Words
Monday, September 23, 2024
Creative Process: Art Therapy & Yoga
Monday, September 30, 2024
Florida Society of Goldsmiths
Wednesday, October 2, 2024
Jazz Guitar Retreat
Thursday, October 3, 2024
The Way of the Dulcimer
Friday, October 4, 2024
StrongHer TogetHer
Monday, October 7, 2024
Sun City Lifelong Learning
Monday, October 7, 2024
Wildacres Fall Star Party
Thursday, October 10, 2024
ASU-Expressive Arts Collective
Thursday, October 10, 2024
UNCC English Honors
Thursday, October 10, 2024
The Feast of Your Life
Monday, October 14, 2024
Redux Retreat III
Thursday, October 17, 2024
Wildacres Leadership Initiative-Seminar 4
Monday, October 21, 2024
Fall Gathering

As a CEO of a non-profit, I can’t say enough about our group retreat. The beautiful grounds of Wildacres was the perfect backdrop for retreat and renewal for our organization.
Jefferson Smith
CEO of New Beginnings
The sense of camaraderie among the different ethnicities, religions, social and economic differences is a true example of founders I.D. and Madolyn Blumenthal’s decision to dedicate Wildacres Retreat "to the betterment of human relations.”
Gary Lee
Owner - Rising Sun Pottery
Wildacres magic is certainly born from its quiet and simple beauty. It is when we carry those gifts back down from that mountain that the real magical power of Wildacres is revealed.
Clark Denniston
MD

Our Values

In the Spring of 1946, Wildacres Retreat was dedicated “to the betterment of human relations” in the hope that through their experiences at the retreat, groups and guests would learn to live together in harmony in the “real world.”

 

At Wildacres Retreat, we believe that diversity, inclusion, and equity are essential ingredients to fulfilling our founding purpose. We believe in the importance of learning from one another and expanding our perspectives in the process. Varied ideas, world views, and personal characteristics can find common purpose in the pursuit of just and equitable human relations. As a community, we support an environment in which all are welcome and respected. We intentionally engage people of diverse ages, ethnicities, races, religions or philosophical beliefs, political affiliations, sexual orientations, gender identities and expressions, nationalities, and socioeconomic statuses in order to build authentic, trusting relationships across these differences. In all that we are and all that we do, Wildacres is an environment free of discrimination, rich with respectful dialogue across differences, and steadfast in its commitment to, and pursuit of, the betterment of human relations.